Cooking with TPACK – It’s peanut butter jelly time…

In CEP810 this week we were introduced to the TPACK framework – technological, pedagogical, and content knowledge. It’s a lot to think about, but without all three working together, you aren’t fully equipped to work with your students from a technological standpoint. It is not enough to give them a tool – you must show them how to use it, and why it’s important.

We were asked to complete a quickfire activity in which someone would pick tools for us and give us a task to complete with them. My husband picked a dinner plate, cereal bowl, and spoon, and pulled “make a pb&j sandwich” from the choices for me to make. You can see from my video that the tools he picked for me actually worked quite nicely! The spoon made it easier and quicker to spread the toppings once they were on the bread. I didn’t need to use my bowl (though it could have acted as a cover if I wanted to leave it out on the plate for a while, I suppose). The dinner plate was better than my other options in the cupboard (saucer, soy sauce dish, etc.). This activity really showed me that there is more than one way to do just about anything. You shouldn’t limit yourself to what you are used to doing. It is definitely worth it to take a risk and try something a new way!

When I think about my teaching, and the students in my classroom, I think about all of the times that we work with technology. I want to make sure I am more deliberate with my explanations as to why we are using a certain program. I want to instill a sense of urgency in my students so that they will see the importance, too.

One thought on “Cooking with TPACK – It’s peanut butter jelly time…

  1. Pingback: Thrifting, repurposing, and the Race to Round! | Whitney Cornelli

Leave a Reply

