A final reflection

I can’t believe how quickly time has flown by – I’m already writing my final CEP810 blog post. This week we were asked to reflect on the course and what we have learned about teaching for understanding with technologies. This course really opened my eyes to all that is possible with technology, yet it has also shown me how much more there is to learn about teaching through technology integration.

One of the most important concepts from this course that I will forever carry with me through my teaching is the idea of being more deliberate with my choice of technology and WHY I am choosing it. It is so important to instill a sense of urgency in your students. They need to understand not only how to use the technology, but why they are using it in the first place. Without a sense of urgency, our students are simply using technology just to say that they’ve used it. Our students will begin to make progress and grow as independent learners and thinkers when we help them to see and understand the specific reasoning behind why we teach with, and they learn through, different types of technology.

I’m left wondering what kinds of opportunities will be available for our English language learners in our classes. Will they understand our sense of urgency if they do not understand our language? How can we use technology (aside from Google translate or other translating websites) to build bridges between those students and their families, to help them feel more connected with a school environment which they may not be accustomed to yet? Right away this makes me think of our TPACK activity and I definitely understand the importance of re-purposing our tools before handing them over to our students. What other opportunities exist for our students who do not have access to technology at home? How can we help them to be successful in an environment where their peers hop on the iPad after homework is completed? What resources exist for teaching the parents of our students about these incredible technology programs? Sharing my knowledge with the families in my classroom is something that I am determined to accomplish. I want to make sure they are just as up-to-date as I am.

I can’t wait for the rest of my journey through MSU’s MAET program. This has been an incredible course, and I hope you’ll follow me as I blaze my own trail on the technology front!

2191566819_27b2847663_b

(photo credit – http://www.flickr.com/photos/dekade/2191566819/)

Leave a Reply

