The beginning of CEP812… well-structured problems and tech solutions!

I am so excited to continue my journey through MSU’s MAET program! Though it was nice to have some time off over the holidays, I am really excited about beginning CEP812 this week. Our first assignment taught us about problems we may encounter in the classroom – well-structured (a problem in which there is one solution), complex/ill-structured (more than one solution), and wicked (solutions may create more problems).

My students are expected to show fluency for their multiplication facts by the end of the school year – meaning they need to correctly answer between 90-100 out of 100 multiplication problems, in five minutes or less! Multiplication facts are considered to be a “well-structured” problem in the classroom because there is only one solution for them – if you multiply 2 by 3, you will always get 6. Even though this is the case, I really felt my students needed some extra practice with learning their facts – and they needed a self-assessment component. I definitely do not want them practicing their facts with incorrect answers!

Check out my screencast here. It introduces the interactive site called the Arithmetic Workout. It’s really fun… I can’t wait to let my students give it a try, and build their math fact fluency!

4 thoughts on “The beginning of CEP812… well-structured problems and tech solutions!

  1. Whitney, what a concise summary of a great tech tool that accommodates your well-structured problem of multiplication facts! I specifically liked how your purpose was that students were able to self-assess themselves and build that fluency stamina by using a visually appealing grid that I assume students would be highly motivated by. As for differentiation, it’s nice that the program allows the controlling of student’s level of mastering facts and they can advance by additional levels and practice. I’ll definitely pass this on to my colleagues!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much! I actually had pretty much settled on the other game I mentioned in my screencase until I found the “arithmetic workout” one… I’m so glad I continued to search even after I thought I was all set! 🙂

    Like

  3. This looks great for those times when kids really need to focus and practice those times tables. I like it’s simplicity and that it can be student driven, along with individualized. When you’ve used it do kids start to think of it as a game? Just looking at it, it seems more entertaining and fun than practicing with a pencil and paper, especially when the sound is thrown in.

    Like

Leave a Reply

